Donnerstag, 28. März 2013

Juan Capra - Cile canta e lotta 1 (1973)

Juan Capra was a Chilean painter, singer and poet. He was active mainly in the 60s and 70s and
recorded in 1967 the album "Los chilenos - Juan Capra" with Quilapayún. Their album "Por Vietnam" featured a song by Juan Capra that mourns the death of Che Guevara.

His home was a sort of informal academy of singing, arts and crafts, and became one of the founding places for the Nueva Cancion Chilena. Here the famous "Peña de los Parra" was established,  a platform for songwriters as Isabel, Angel and Violeta Parra, Patricio Manns, Rolando Alarcón, Victor Jara, Payo Grondona, Patricio Castillo, Paco Ibáñez or Atahualpa Yupanqui.
Juan Capra died in 1996, at the age of 58, in poverty.

This album contains recordings made ​​by John Capra in Italy and was published as the first volume devoted to the Chilean resistance.

Side 1:
1. Dicen que no caben- Resfaloza
2. Blanca Flor y Filumena- Romance
3. Dicen que los monos - Polka
4. Versos por padecimiento - Canto a lo divino
5. El hundimiento del Transporte Angamos- Vals
6. San Pedro se puso guapo - Cueca
7. Desen las manos - Pericona

Side 2:
1. Bajando de Los Andes - Resfaloza
2. Viva Balmaceda - Cueca
3. Tengo una pena - Vals
4. Sirilla - Sirilla (Según el favor del viento- Por qué los pobres no tienen)
5. Contrapunto entre el águila américana y el cóndor chileno
6. Yo me vuelvo para Chile - Sirilla

Juan Capra - Cile canta e lotta 1 (1973)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

Samstag, 23. März 2013

Hans-A-Plast - Sex Sex Sex EP (1981)

ImageHere are our heroes from Hannover, Hans-A-Plast, with their EP "Sex Sex Sex", released in 1981 on the No Fun label, containing the tracks "Sex Sex Sex" and "Lemminger Punks".

Hans-A-Plast - Sex Sex Sex EP (1981)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

Donnerstag, 21. März 2013

Hans-A-Plast - II (1981)

ImageHans-A-Plast was a German independent punkrock band from Hannover, founded in 1978. They released their first album DIY with a little help by the local independent-label Lava Records, which permit to use the label and labelcode for this enterprise. This first album was something like an initial spark to the later called NDW and against any expectation, very successful. More than 10 000 copies sold very fast, so the band decided to do their own Label "No Fun Records", founded in 1980. They did a rerelease of the first album and two more on it, but also offers it to several local bands. There was some attention all over the world at this time, and up to now, the band still belong to the most important German punkrockbands.

To complete the Hans-A-Plast history, here´s their second album.

The german pop magazin "Sounds" wrote about this release:
"Hans-A-Plast II ist ein schwieriges, abwechslungsreiches Album, mit dem auseinanderzusetzen sich lohnt. Viele der Texte enthalten Tiefen und Anspielungen, die sich erst bei häufigerem Gebrauch auftun" (Sounds 1/81)

Hans-A-Plast - II (1981)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

Sonntag, 17. März 2013

Gil Scott-Heron - 1974 – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

Spanning 1970-1972, this superb collection takes us back to Gil Scott-Heron's early years, when he was working with jazz producer Bob Thiele - a man who had been in the studio with everyone from John Coltrane and Pharoah Sanders to Coleman Hawkins.

But "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" isn't a jazz collection per se; it's a collection of innovative R&B and spoken poetry that contains jazz influences and finds Scott-Heron employing such jazz musicians as flutist Hubert Laws and bassist Ron Carter. Like the Last Poets, Scott-Heron has been described as "one of the first rappers" - and while he was hardly the first person to speak in rhyme to music, there are definitely parallels between angry sociopolitical poems like "Whitey on the Moon," "No Knock," and "Brother" and hip-hop commentary from the 1980s. Poetry, however, doesn't dominate this album - most of the selections illustrate Scott-Heron's excellence as a singer, including "Home Is Where the Hatred Is," "Did You Hear What They Said?," and the poignant "Save the Children."

One of the collection's less political tracks is "Lady Day and John Coltrane," an R&B classic that articulates how easily jazz can lift a person's spirits. "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" isn't the last word on Scott-Heron's artistry - he recorded many more treasures after leaving Flying Dutchman for Arista in 1975. But it's one of the collections to acquire if you're exploring his artistry for the first time.

01. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
02. Sex Education – Ghetto Style
03. The Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues
04. No Knock
05. Lady Day And John Coltrane
06. Pieces Of A Man
07. Home Is Where The Hatred Is
08. Brother
09. Save The Children
10. Whitey On The Moon
11. Did You Hear What They Said
12. When You Are Who You Are
13. I Think I’ll Call It Morning
14. A Sign Of The Ages
15. Or Down You Fall
16. The Needle’s Eye
17. The Prisoner

Gil Scott-Heron - The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
(192 kbps, front cover included)