Freitag, 15. Juni 2018

Nina Simone - The Amazing Nina Simone (1959)

There is a remarkable amount of variety on this disc, Nina Simone's second recording. Her repertoire ranges from a swinging "Stompin' at the Savoy" and an emotional "It Might as Well Be Spring" to an English folk ballad ("Tomorrow"), spirituals, an R&B song ("You've Been Gone Too Long") and the theme song from the movie "Middle of the Night".

Somehow Simone brings credibility to each of these very different songs. She does not play much piano (just cameos on two songs) and is backed by a subtle orchestra arranged by Bob Mersey that is effective accompanying her vocals. This session finds Nina Simone's voice in top form and with a few exceptions is generally jazz-oriented.                


01 - Blue Prelude
02 - Children Go Where I Send You
03 - Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
04 - Stompin' at the Savoy
05 - It Might as Well Be Spring
06 - You've Been Gone Too Long
07 - That's Him over There
08 - Chilly Winds Don't Blow
09 - Theme from Middle of the Night
10 - Can't Get Out of This Mood
11 - Willow Weep for Me
12 - Solitaire

Nina Simone - The Amazing Nina Simone (1959)
320 kbps, front cover included)

6 Kommentare:

iggy hat gesagt…

Thank you vurry much for the Nina and Barbara albums. Awesome voices; awesome albums. All good wishes,


zero hat gesagt…

It´s my pleasure. All the best to you!

Anonym hat gesagt…

Thanks for this, and all the other great stuff up and down the list here.

zero hat gesagt…

You are welcome!

muddyw123 hat gesagt…

Great re-post, in 320! Thank you.

zero hat gesagt…

...hope you enjoy this wonderful music! Best wishes!

Kommentar veröffentlichen