Montag, 8. Juni 2015

Nina Simone - I Put A Spell On You (1965)

"I Put A Spell On You" is one of Nina Simones most pop-oriented albums, but also one of her best and most consistent. Most of the songs feature dramatic, swinging large-band orchestration, with the accent on the brass and strings.

Simone didn't write any of the material, turning to popular European songsmiths Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, and Anthony Newley, as well as her husband, Andy Stroud, and her guitarist, Rudy Stevenson, for bluesier fare.

Really fine tunes and interpretations, on which Simone gives an edge to the potentially fey pop songs, taking a sudden (but not uncharacteristic) break for a straight jazz instrumental with "Blues on Purpose." The title track, a jazzy string ballad version of the Screamin' Jay Hawkins classic, gave the Beatles the inspiration for the phrasing on the bridge of "Michelle." This LP has been combined with the 1964 In Concert album on a CD reissue.        

  1. "I Put a Spell on You" (Jalacy Hawkins) – 2:34
  2. "Tomorrow Is My Turn" (Charles Aznavour, Marcel Stellman, Yves Stéphane) – 2:48
  3. "Ne me quitte pas" (Jacques Brel) – 3:34
  4. "Marriage is for Old Folks" (Leon Carr, Earl Shuman) – 3:29
  5. "July Tree" (Irma Jurist, Eve Merriam) – 2:41
  6. "Gimme Some" (Andy Stroud) – 2:57
  7. "Feeling Good" (Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley) – 2:53
  8. "One September Day" (Rudy Stevenson) – 2:48
  9. "Blues on Purpose" (instrumental) (Rudy Stevenson) – 3:16
  10. "Beautiful Land" (Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley) – 1:54
  11. "You've Got to Learn" (Charles Aznavour, Marcel Stellman) – 2:41
  12. "Take Care of Business" (Andy Stroud) – 2:03

Nina Simone - I Put A Spell On You (1965) 
(320 kbps, cover art included)

Montag, 1. Juni 2015

Ras Michael - Dadawah - Peace & Love / Nyahbinghi

Nyahbingi music in its purest form ist the music played at Rastafarian meetings or "grounations", and is based around a style of relentless drumming and chanting. Sometimes a guitar or horns are used, but no amplification at all is employed.

Though serious musicologists had made occasional field recordings of nyahbingi sessions, the first album to give the music the studio time it deserved, while remaining as true to its original forms are possible, was the triple LP set "Grounation" from Count Ossie & The Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari. This historic set has never been superseded, but the establishment of Rastafari as the dominant reggae ideology in the mid-1970s, plus the emergence of an audience for reggae albums that were more than collections of hit singles, created a climate in which more sets of nyabingi-based music could be produced.

The most noteworthy of these were by Ras Michael & The Sons Of Negus. In 1975, Ras Michael´s group were joined by some of Kingston´s top studio musicians for the retrieving album "Dadawah - Peace & Love". Unique in its synthesis of musical forms and the length of its tracks, it uses traditional Rasta chants as its basic material, but subjects it to elements from the reggae mainstream, US funk and even rock.

Here are Ras Michael´s first two albums "Dadawah - Peace & Love" and "Nyahbinghi" together on one CD. It is one of our favourite albums for the more quiet and thoughtful hours of the day:

Ras Michael - Dadawah - Peace & Love / Nyahbinghi
(256 kbps, cover art included)

You can listen to an interview with Ras Michael on (real player audio).
More infos about nyahbinghi can be found on .