Montag, 17. Juni 2019

Television Personalities - Mummy Your Not Watching Me (1982)

The second full-length Television Personalities release (and the first product of Daniel Treacy's Whaam! label, later renamed Dreamworld after George Michael's manager offered them a pot of money to change the name) adds a full-time bass player to the original trio and sets the Wayback Machine ahead about 18 months from the debut's Swinging Carnaby Street sound. 

The darker, more psychedelic "Mummy Your (sic) Not Watching Me" is considerably less innocent than "And Don't the Kids Just Love It," covering Treacy's increasingly self-effacing lyrics in a wash of keyboards and phased guitars. There are a few songs that still show the influence of the earlier Television Personalities sound, including the wistful "Magnificent Dreams" and a remake of the single "Painting By Numbers," originally released under the name the Gifted Children, but the key track is the lengthy "David Hockney's Diaries," an acid rock drone that introduces an entirely different texture into the band's sound that Treacy would explore further on the next several albums. This is a transitional album that has tended to be shortchanged by both reviewers and fans, but there's much to recommend here.


A1 Adventure Playground
A2 A Day In Heaven
A3 Scream Quietly...
A4 Mummy Your Not Watching Me
A5 Brians Magic Car
A6 Where The Rainbow Ends
B1 David Hockneys Diaries
B2 Painting By Numbers
B3 Lichtenstein Painting
B4 Magnificent Dreams
B5 If I Could Write Poetry

Television Personalities - Mummy Your Not Watching Me (1982)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen