Freitag, 20. April 2018

Sun Ra & His Intergalactic Research Arkestra ‎– Black Myth / Out In Space (1970)

Although portions of the "Black Myth/Out in Space" were previously issued as "It's After the End of the World", this two-disc set is far and away the definitive release of the material in question, compiling two 1970 festival appearances documenting Sun Ra at the peak of his considerable creative powers.

"Black Myth", recorded at the Donaueschingen Music Festival, is the real find here, with a series of compositions and solos written specifically for performance on that evening -- the Arkestra, including John Gilmore and Pat Patrick, is in excellent form throughout, and the music is consistently inventive and galvanizing.

The same sentiments apply to "Out in Space" as well - a set comprised primarily of cosmic journeys like "Walkin' on the Moon," "Outer Space Where I Came From" and "Theme of the Stargazers," it climaxes with a powerful rendition of "We Travel the Spaceways."               


Disc One:
  1. "Black Forest Myth" - 3:58
  2. "Friendly Galaxy No. 2" - 5:25
  3. "Journey Through the Outer Darkness" - 12:58 
  4. "Strange Worlds/Black Myth/It's After the End of the World" - 15:18
  5. "We'll Wait for You" - 10:13 
  • Recorded at the Stadthalle as part of the Donaueschingen Musik Festival on October 17, 1970
Disc Two:
  1. "Out in Space" - 37:45 
  2. "Discipline Series" - 3:28 
  3. "Walkin' on the Moon..." - 9:02 
  4. "Outer Space Where I Came From" [recitation] - 0:23 
  5. "Watusa" - 2:44
  6. "Myth Versus Reality" - 14:59
  7. "Theme of the Stargazers" - 0:42 
  8. "Space Chants Medley: Second Stop Is Jupiter/Why Go to the Moon/Neptune" - 5:42 
  9. "We Travel the Spaceways" - 3:02 

  • Recorded at the Kongresshalle as part of the Berlin Jazz Festival on November 7, 1970.

Sun Ra & His Intergalactic Research Arkestra ‎– Black Myth / Out In Space (1970)
(320 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen