Freitag, 27. April 2018

The Black Ark Presents - Rastafari Liveth In The Hearts Of Everyone Itinually

"Rastafari Liveth..." is a very dread collection, with heavy Rasta vibes throughout. Many of these tracks can't be found anywhere else, making this a valuable collection for serious Lee Perry fans. This album follows the pattern of a lot of Lee Perry releases, choosing to chronicle a series of singles and offering first the A, then the B side. The effect is not as mind-numbing and clinical as one might think.

These songs are from the prime of Perry's conscious phase, right during his flirtation with Rastafari. The lyrics are strong and the beats are strident and military, more reminiscent of some of King Tubby's work than a lot of what leaked from The Black Ark. Many of the usual suspects contribute vocals here, including Devon Irons and Watty Burnett.

Highlights include Clive Hylton's meditative "Judgement Day", Devon Irons' heavy duty "When Jah Comes", and the startling "Forward With Jah Orthodox", a menacing nyabinghi number calling for a new order in Jamaica. For those looking for a Lee Perry starting point, there are better records. For the converted, it´s tough to getenough andthis will be a welcome addition to the pile.


01. Ethiopian Land - Peter & Paul Lewis
02. Dub Land - The Upsetters
03. Rise And Shine - Watty & Tony
04. Shining Dub - The Upsetters
05. What A War - Watty Burnett
06. What A Dub - The Upsetters
07. 23rd Psalm - Junior Delgado & Big Youth
08. Judgement Day - Clive Hylton
09. Well Judged Dub - The Upsetters
10. Forward With Jah Orthodox - Mystic
11. Orthodox Dub - The Upsetters
12. Come Along - The Bluebells
13. Dub Along - The Upsetters
14. 4 And 20 Dreadlocks - Evan Jones
15. Dreadlocks Dub - The Upsetters
16. When Jah Comes - Devon Irons
17. When Jah Dubs - The Upsetters

The Black Ark Presents - Rastafari Liveth... (192 kbps)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen