Dienstag, 12. November 2019

Inti-Illimani - Inti-Illimani ("Cóndores Del Sol") (1970) d

The New Song movement that emerged in the 1960s in Chile was rooted in popular musical traditions that were passed down through generations. The young musicians drew from folk traditions but created new musical, instrumental, and poetic forms that revolutionized the musical culture of Chile.

Songs like “Plegaria a un Labrador” (Víctor Jara), “Venceremos” (Inti-Illimani), and “El Pueblo Unido” (Quilapayún), with their stirring music and socially conscious lyrics, became well-known anthems of the popular movements of the 1960s and 70s. They had a universal quality as well, crossing borders and communicating with people around the world who shared similar dreams of social justice.

Inti-Illimani (Inti-E-gee-manee), from the Aymara dialect, means "Sun of the Illimani," in reference to a mountain at La Paz, Bolivia. Latin American folk music ensemble from Bolivia & Chile. The band was formed in 1967 by a group of university students: Pedro Yañez (musical director), Jorge Coulon, Max Berrú, Horacio Durán, Oscar Guzmán, Luis Cifuentes and Ciro Retamal. That same year Luis Cifuentes was replaced by Luis Espinoza, and Ciro Retamal and Oscar Guzmán quit the band, joining them Horacio “Loro” Salinas. Pedro Yáñez also left the band in 1968.

They acquired widespread popularity in Chile for their song "Venceremos" (We shall win!) which became the anthem of the Popular Unity government of Salvador Allende. At the moment of September 11, 1973's Chilean coup they were on tour in Europe and were unable to return to their country where their music was proscribed by the ruling military junta. In Europe their music took on a multifarious character, incorporating elements of European baroque and other traditional music forms to their rich and colourful Latin American rhythms - creating a distinctive fusion of modern world music. They are perhaps the best internationally known members of the nueva canción movement. 


01 - Lamento del Indio [o Los Arados]
02 - Huajra
03 - Nuestro México, Febrero 23
04 - Dolencias
05 - Quiaquenita
06 - La Petenera
07 - Carnavalito de la Quebrada de Humahuaca
08 - Así Como Hoy Matan Negros
09 - La Mariposa
10 - Flor De Sancayo
11 - Fiesta Pueña
12 - Madrugada Llanera

(192 kbps, cover art included)

2 Kommentare:

Erwin hat gesagt…

And the treasure hunt continues. Thank you.

zero hat gesagt…

You are welcome!

Kommentar posten