Samstag, 3. April 2021

Nina Simone - I Put A Spell On You (1965)

"I Put A Spell On You" is one of Nina Simones most pop-oriented albums, but also one of her best and most consistent. Most of the songs feature dramatic, swinging large-band orchestration, with the accent on the brass and strings.

Simone didn't write any of the material, turning to popular European songsmiths Charles Aznavour, Jacques Brel, and Anthony Newley, as well as her husband, Andy Stroud, and her guitarist, Rudy Stevenson, for bluesier fare.

Really fine tunes and interpretations, on which Simone gives an edge to the potentially fey pop songs, taking a sudden (but not uncharacteristic) break for a straight jazz instrumental with "Blues on Purpose." The title track, a jazzy string ballad version of the Screamin' Jay Hawkins classic, gave the Beatles the inspiration for the phrasing on the bridge of "Michelle." This LP has been combined with the 1964 In Concert album on a CD reissue.        

  1. "I Put a Spell on You" (Jalacy Hawkins) – 2:34
  2. "Tomorrow Is My Turn" (Charles Aznavour, Marcel Stellman, Yves Stéphane) – 2:48
  3. "Ne me quitte pas" (Jacques Brel) – 3:34
  4. "Marriage is for Old Folks" (Leon Carr, Earl Shuman) – 3:29
  5. "July Tree" (Irma Jurist, Eve Merriam) – 2:41
  6. "Gimme Some" (Andy Stroud) – 2:57
  7. "Feeling Good" (Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley) – 2:53
  8. "One September Day" (Rudy Stevenson) – 2:48
  9. "Blues on Purpose" (instrumental) (Rudy Stevenson) – 3:16
  10. "Beautiful Land" (Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley) – 1:54
  11. "You've Got to Learn" (Charles Aznavour, Marcel Stellman) – 2:41
  12. "Take Care of Business" (Andy Stroud) – 2:03

Nina Simone - I Put A Spell On You (1965) 
(320 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar posten