Mittwoch, 11. Juli 2018

Richie Havens - Something Else Again

As a little thank you for all the nice comments related to the earlier Richie Havens postings, here´s one more of his albums: "Something Else Again".

The sound here is more keyboard-heavy than its predecessor "Mixed Bag", but Richie Havens continues in a similar vein with his distinctive smoky voice and thumb-fretted open-tuned guitar.

"No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed" and "Don't Listen to Me" are propelled by Warren Bernhardt's percussive electric piano, while "Inside of Him" and "Sugarplums" are pretty ballads featuring the flute of Jeremy Steig. "The Klan" and "Run Shaker Life" are cut from the same mold as "Handsome Johnny," the Woodstock show-stopper from "Mixed Bag". The melody of "New City" has attractive, expansive intervals, and "From the Prison" is an intense piece of balladry built around a riff on the guitar's bass strings. Finally, the title track is seven-and-a-half minutes of sitar, flute, tamboura, and tabla, very much of its time, when George Harrison's interest in Ravi Shankar led many musicians to experiment with Indian instruments, rhythms, and melodies. This cut could be the soundtrack to a flower-power dance in the park or an incense-laced gathering around a hookah beneath posters and black lights.


A1 No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed 2:58
A2 Inside Of Him 4:27
A3 The Klan 4:31
A4 Sugarplums 2:54
A5 Don't Listen To Me 4:25
B1 From The Prison 3:40
B2 Maggie's Farm 4:35
B3 Somethin' Else Again 7:26
B4 New City 2:50
B5 Run, Shaker Life 5:45

Richie Havens - Something Else Again
(320 kbps, cover art included)

3 Kommentare:

muddyw123 hat gesagt…

Amazing album. Thank you for sharing.

Bob Mac hat gesagt…

Thanks for this, one I've never heard.

zero hat gesagt…

I love this album, so i´m glad you like it. Best wishes!

Kommentar veröffentlichen