Dienstag, 20. Oktober 2020

Dagmar Krause - Angebot & Nachfrage (Lieder von Brecht / Weill /Eisler) (1986)

"Supply and Demand: Songs by Brecht / Weill & Eisler" was the first solo album by German singer Dagmar Krause released by Hannibal Records in 1986.
It is a collection of 16 songs by German composers Kurt Weill and Hanns Eisler, with lyrics by Bertolt Brecht and sung by Krause in English.
She also sung the songs in the original German which were released by Hannibal at the same time on a companion album, "Angebot & Nachfrage: Lieder von Brecht / Weill & Eisler".

Although seeking out Krause's work with Slapp Happy, Henry Cow and the Art Bears is worthwhile, ultimately the democracy of a band means less Dagmar to listen to. Therefore, go straight to this amazing solo recording of Krause singing the music of Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill and Hans Eisler. It's approachable, accessible ("Mack the Knife" is here under its original title, "Moritat"), beautifully sung (her version of "Surabaya Johnny" is definitive) and very, very moving. Krause's grandiose alto voice was perfectly suited to the emotionally and politically charged music of these German songs. Lyrically they continued the trend of earlier songs of social conscience Krause had performed, for example on Henry Cow's "Living in the Heart of the Beast".


A1 Angebot & Nachfrage (Song Von Der Ware) 2:57
A2 Grabrede 1919 1:59
A3 Deutsche Miserere 1:39
A4 O Falladah, Die Du Hangest! 2:41
A5 Alabama-Song 2:51
A6 Hollywood-Elegien 2:55
A7 Surabaya Johnny 3:59
A8 Moritat (Ballade Von Mackie Messer) 2:39
B1 Matrosen-Tango 3:57
B2 Die Ballade Von Der Höllenlili 2:25
B3 Das Lied Von Der Moldau 1:40
B4 Im Gefängnis Zu Singen 3:00
B5 Ostersonntag 1935 1:24
B6 Zu Potsdam Unter Den Eichen 2:22
B7 Der Song Von Mandelay 2:12
B8 Benares Song 3:52
This is the album with the songs sung in the original german language. You can find cd version mit some added songs in english language here.

Dagmar Krause - Angebot & Nachfrage (Lieder Von Brecht-Weill & Eisler)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

7 Kommentare:

-Otto- hat gesagt…

Thank for Dagmar auf Deutsch. BTW, the link to the English version needs updating. Maybe it wants to link to a different iteration of your blog without the "G" in zerogsounds. And for those who prefer the English rendition, I bet they'd be happy about a new DL link. Again, thanks for the present Dagmar auf Deutsch.

apf hat gesagt…

Thank you!

rev.b hat gesagt…

An updated link to the English version would be appreciated.


zero hat gesagt…

Thanks for your patience. No the link to the cd version with some added recordings in english language is updatet. Best wishes!

magnax hat gesagt…

Would it be of any use to ask for a new upload of this...? Please...

glado hat gesagt…

Danke für beide Versionen!

zero hat gesagt…

You are welcome!

Kommentar veröffentlichen