Donnerstag, 6. Juli 2017

The Chad Mitchell Trio And The Gatemen ‎– In Concert - Everybody's Listening (1964)

This is one of those concert albums that isn't. The Chad Mitchell Trio departed Colpix for Kapp in 1961, leaving Colpix with just four outtakes by the group in the can from its 1960 debut album, "The Chad Mitchell Trio Arrives". Cherry-picking two tracks ("I Do Adore Her" and "Sally Ann") from that album and adding in the four unreleased songs, the label then dubbed in audience noise to make a faux live set. This still didn't add up to an album, so six songs from a forgettable quartet known as the Gatemen were grafted on, again with fake crowd noise, and the end result is a disserve to all involved, especially those who actually purchased the record.

The CMT do shine on the Irving Burgie chestnut "I Do Adore Her," but the exact same recording had already been on Arrives (minus the badly dubbed crowd effects), and although the version here of "Vaya con Dios" is also pretty good, it only proves that some performances can't be ruined no matter what one does to them.

The Gatemen portion of the set is even worse, complete with subpar vocals, a piano player who seems to have wandered in from the nearest lounge bar, some misplaced electric guitar licks, and a drummer who appears to be auditioning for a surf band. -           

This album consists of selections from the Chad Mitchell Trio's studio sessions for Colpix from 1960, twelve of which were released on the "Arrives" album (CP/SCP-411). From those sessions remained four rejected songs ("Herbie Spear," "Devil Road," "Rodger Young," and "Vaya Con Dios"). With the trio signed to Kapp, Colpix did not have enough material to issue a second album, so they decided to build a "live" album around the four tunes, dubbing in poorly EQ'd audience applause, guitar tuning, and even coughing to simulate a live concert. In addition to the four unreleased tracks, Colpix added the released versions of "I Do Adore Her" and "Sally Ann" from the Arrives album to round out side one. As for the unreleased tracks, "Devil Road" is simply a reworked version of "Wayfaring Stranger" with new lyrics, while "Rodger Young" features a rare solo by original member Mike Pugh. "Vaya Con Dios" is actually a beautiful and tender rendition of the ballad made famous by Les Paul & Mary Ford. Side two of the album features an unknown folk quartet called the Gatemen singing songs that could have been sung by the Mitchell Trio (folk staples "Jesse James" and "Wabash Cannonball"). The problem is, these guys couldn't sing. In addition, the group made the unfortunate decision to include a piano and a ponderous rock & roll wannabe drummer in the group. It results in some very painful listening. On top of these abysmal performances, Colpix adds the same phony applause used on the Mitchell tracks. No clue is given as to the Gatemen's identity (it's just as well). A photo on the cover shows six teenagers sitting in what looks like a run-down bohemian apartment room. ~ Cary Ginell, Rovi

A1Chad Mitchell Trio, The                Herbie Spear2:01
A2Chad Mitchell Trio, TheDevil Road2:35
A3Chad Mitchell Trio, TheI Do Adore Her3:07
A4Chad Mitchell Trio, TheRodger Young2:32
A5Chad Mitchell Trio, TheSally Ann2:24
A6Chad Mitchell Trio, TheVaya Con Dios2:43
B1Gatemen, TheJesse James2:34
B2Gatemen, TheGreen Leaves Of Summer2:39
B3Gatemen, TheThe Klan2:13
B4Gatemen, The500 Miles2:53
B5Gatemen, TheWhat Have You Got To Show?2:45
B6Gatemen, TheWabash Cannonball2:20

The Chad Mitchell Trio And The Gatemen ‎– In Concert - Everybody's Listening (1964)
(256 kbps, cover art included)

2 Kommentare:

Bill hat gesagt…

Looks like the girl on the cover just hurt her leg and her friends are trying to console her...

Cri hat gesagt…

Zero, could you re-up this, please?

Kommentar veröffentlichen