Donnerstag, 10. Dezember 2020

Jack Elliott - Jack Takes The Floor (1958)

Jack Takes the Floor is an album by American folk musician Ramblin' Jack Elliott, released in Great Britain in 1958. The original release was a 10-inch LP

This record was released as a 10" LP by Topic in 1958 with a brown/orange textured pattern sleeve with Jack in the foreground. The second issue sleeve, with the same record had the generic vertical stripes with the paper information pasted over the top of the opening cover and into the inside. The third issue had the screen-printed picture which we see here. By the time of the second issue, the whole Topic operation had moved to Nassington Road. Only the first issue came from the Bishops Bridge Road address; both subsequent releases have the Nassington Road address on both sleeve and label.

Ramblin' Jack Elliott delivers folk songs of varied origins in his unique New-York-meets-Texas style. Elliott's approach seamlessly blends hillbilly and blues on almost every track. The influence of Woody Guthrie (who makes a guest appearance on "New York Town") is plain to hear, but so is his own influence on the likes of later artists like Arlo Guthrie, Bob Dylan, and Townes Van Zandt.

The tracks were later reissued on a 12" record by Topic. 


A1 San Francisco Bay Blues
A2 Ol' Riley
A3 Boll Weevil
A4 Bed Bug Blues
A5 New York Town
A6 Grey Goose
B1 Mule Skinner's Blues
B2 Cocaine
B3 Dink's Song
B4 Black Baby
B5 Salty Dog

(320 kbps, cover art included)

1 Kommentare:

Anonym hat gesagt…


Kommentar veröffentlichen