Donnerstag, 8. September 2016

The Chad Mitchell Trio - Collection

The Chad Mitchell Trio – also known as the Mitchell Trio – were a North American vocal group who became known during the 1960s. They performed folk songs, some of which were traditionally passed down and some of their own compositions. Unlike many fellow folk music groups, none of the trio played instruments. They became popular in some quarters, and were particularly notable for performing satirical songs that criticized current events during the time of the cold war, the civil rights movement, and the Vietnam War, in a less subtle way than the typical folk music and singer-songwriter musicians of their time.

This 17-song compilation includes selections from the albums "Blowin' in the Wind", "At the Bitter End", and "Mighty Day on Campus" (strangely enough, arranged in reverse order of recording), among them "Leave Me if You Want To," "Blowin' in the Wind," "The Ballad of the Greenland Whalers," "The John Birch Society," "Last Night I Had The Strangest Dream," and "You Can Tell The World." The sound is quite good, and the selection of tracks is very satisfying.      

 Every one of the seventeen tracks is a jewel, reflecting a different facet of the trio. The signature irreverence of the trio is reflected in "The John Birch Society," and more idealistic times reflected in "Last Night I had The Strangest Dream." Those of us of a certain age remember Hootenanies and Happenings where we did our best to emulate the trio singing "The Gypsy Rover" and "The Golden Vanity." All the magic of the Chad Mitchell Trio is here.


1 Leave Me If You Want To (2:41)
2 Blowing in the Wind (2:36)
3 The Ballad of the Greenland Whalers (2:41)
4 The John Birch Society (3:47)
5 Hello Susan Brown (3:10)
6 Blues Around My Head (3:17)
7 Alberta (2:44)
8 Golden Vanity (2:52)
9 Come Along Home (Tom's Song) (2:35)
10 You Can Tell the World (2:54)
11 Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream (2:27)
12 Mighty Day (2:14)
13 The Whistling Gypsy (3:08)
14 Dona, Dona, Dona (3:22)
15 Whup! Jamboree( 1:49)
16 Johnnie (5:08)
17 Puttin' on the Style (2:21)

The Chad Mitchell Trio - Collection
(256 kbps, front cover included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen