Freitag, 1. Juli 2016

Sarah Vaughan - No Count Sarah (1958)

Sarah Vaughan recorded in a variety of settings while with Mercury and EmArcy in the 1950s, but this particular matchup with the Count Basie Orchestra (pianist Ronnell Bright substitutes for Count, thus the title) is pure jazz.

During the classic encounter, Vaughan fits in comfortably with the band, whether singing lyrics (such as "Darn That Dream," "Cheek to Cheek," or "Doodlin'") or scatting sensuously on "No Count Blues." The wit and constant swing (in addition to the spontaneous creativity), makes this one of the best of all Sarah Vaughan recordings. Highly recommended.



  1. "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" (Otto Harbach, Jerome Kern) – 3:58
  2. "Doodlin'" (Horace Silver) – 4:34
  3. "Darn That Dream" (Eddie DeLange, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 3:43
  4. "Just One of Those Things" (Cole Porter) – 2:31
  5. "Moonlight in Vermont" (John Blackburn, Karl Suessdorf) – 3:19
  6. "No 'Count Blues" (Thad Jones, Sarah Vaughan) – 5:27
  7. "Cheek to Cheek" (Irving Berlin) – 5:09
  8. "Stardust" (Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish) – 3:17
  9. "Missing You" (Ronnell Bright) – 3:28

Sarah Vaughan - No Count Sarah (1958)
(256 kbps, cover art included)         

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen