Samstag, 3. Juli 2021

Pete Seeger - Talking Union (2007)

Despite the title, this album is not to be confused with the Almanac Singers' 1941 debut album of the same name (nor with the expanded reissue of that album, Talking Union and Other Union Songs released in 1955 by Folkways Records), although it does contain a few of the tracks from that album.

From the liner notes:

"Seeger´s union songs are represented on this album, along with the anti-Nazi "Deliver The Goods", traditinal pieces like "Casey Jones" and Jimmy Rodgers´ "Muleskinner Blues", together with a selection of the childrens´ songs he enjoyed, a contrasting antidote to the serious material. Many of these show a good natured sense of humour, but we close with his typically definat performance of the rousing "We Shall Not Be Moved".


1 Talking Union
2 Deliver The Goods
3 Union Maid
4 The Sinking Of The Reuben James
5 Casey Jones
6 Gambling Man
7 Liza Jane
8 All I Want
9 Train Is A-Coming
10 Jim Crack Corn
11 All Around The Kitchen
12 Frog Went A-Courting
13 She'll Be Coming 'Round The Mountain
14 Clap Your Hands
15 This Old Man
16 Bought Me A Cat
17 Jim Along Josie
18 Muleskinner Blues
19 Billy Barlow
20 There Was A Man And He Was Mad
21 Coast Of High Barbary
22 We Shall Not Be Moved

Pete Seeger - Talking Union (2007)
(320 kbps, front cover included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen