Dienstag, 13. Juli 2021

VA - Shut Up And Dance - The Original Collection - The First 20 Singles in Full 12´´ Versions (1992)

Shut Up And Dance Records is a pioneering British breakbeat label, established by PJ and Smiley in London in 1989.

Ragga-techno hit-makers and sampling pirates without equal on Britain's early hardcore breakbeat scene, Shut Up & Dance were an early influence on the development of jump-up breakbeats and b-bwoy attitude into the streamlined version of drum'n'bass which emerged later in the '90s. The duo of PJ & Smiley, both residents of East End stronghold Stoke Newington, formed both the label and group Shut Up & Dance out of their bedroom in 1988. The imprint first released records by the Ragga Twins and Nicolette during 1989 before Shut Up & Dance the group debuted later that year. Early singles like "£10 to Get In" and "Derek Went Mad" displayed the pair's approach to hardcore techno -- sampling well-known pop groups with little fear of retribution, piling chunky breakbeats over the top, evincing plenty of ragga attitude and displaying an unflinching criticism of the emerging rave scene's dark side

Also included is an insert telling the story of Shut Up And Dance Records:"This double LP is only a sample of the material released so far from the label.
Stretching many barriers and frontiers, one thing is for sure, this is only the beginning"

Although the cover states "The first 20 Singles in full 12" Versions", several of the tracks here are edited versions to fit on a single CD.


1 Shut Up & Dance–£10 To Get In 4:03
2 Shut Up & Dance–£20 To Get In 4:01
3 Shut Up & Dance–Lamborghini (Original) 3:06
4 Shut Up & Dance–Change Come Soon 3:27
5 Adé–Summer Breeze 3:32
6 Ragga Twins–Spliffhead (Original) 4:23
7 Ragga Twins–Juggling 3:14
8 Nicolette–Waking Up 4:29
9 Adé–Free The Soul 4:11
10 Rum & Black–Slaves 4:22
11 Shut Up & Dance–Derek Went Mad 3:54
12 Rum & Black–Fuck The Legal Stations 4:27
13 Codine–Prologue 4:21
14 Ragga Twins–The Killing 4:00
15 Shut Up & Dance–Raps My Occupation 4:21
16 Nicolette–School Of The World 3:57
17 Shut Up & Dance–This Town Needs A Sheriff 3:17
18 Ragga Twins–Wipe The Needle (Original) 4:49
19 Nicolette–Single Minded People 4:07
20 Ragga Twins–18" Speaker 3:44

(320 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen