Montag, 5. Juli 2021

VA - Soul Of Jamaica - Here Comes The Duke (Trojan, 1997)

This disc brings together two of producer Duke Reid's original rocksteady albums from the late '60s. In addition to several stellar soul-jazz instrumentals by Reid's house band, Tommy McCook & the Supersonics, the 24 tracks take in wealth of classic vocals by the Techniques ("Run Come Celebrate"), Alton Ellis ("Willow Weep for Me"), Phyliss Dillon ("Long Time No Nice Time"), the Paragons ("My Best Girl"), and the Termites ("Love Up Kiss Up"). 

There are also fine cuts by Joya Landis (a cover of the '60s pop hit "Angel of the Morning"), the Jamaicans, and the Soul Lads. And this is not to forget the tight grooves behind the vocals, compliments of tenor saxophonist McCook and such Supersonics notables as trumpeter Johnny Moore, alto saxophonist Lester Sterling, guitarist Lyn Tait, and organist Winston Wright. A welcome reissue in a sea of ska and rocksteady compilations.


Soul Of Jamaica (TRL-3):
1 Joya Landis– Angel Of The Morning
2 Alton Ellis– My Willow Tree
3 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Heatwave
4 Joya Landis– (Mummy) Out The Light
5 The Paragons– My Best Girl
6 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– What The World Needs Now
7 Alton Ellis– I Can't Stand It
8 Phyllis Dillon– Long Time No Nice Time
9 Tommy McCook– Ride Me Donkey
10 Alton Ellis & Phyllis Dillon– Love Letters
11 The Jamaicans– Woman Go Home
12 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Flying Home

Here Comes The Duke (TRL-6):
13 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Laba Laba Reggae (The Lonely Goat Herd)
14 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Second Fiddle
15 Danny Simpson & Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Mary Poppins
16 Tommy McCook & The Supersonics– Soul Remedy
17 The Techniques– I'm In The Mood For Love
18 The Soul Lads– I'm Yours Forever
19 Ken Parker– True True True
20 The Techniques– Run Come Celebrate
21 The Gladiators– Sweet Soul Music
22 Joya Landis– Kansas City
23 The Termites– Love Up Kiss Up

(320 kbps, cover art included)

2 Kommentare:

Mickey Bitsko hat gesagt…

Wonderful tunes, thanks!

zero hat gesagt…

Glad you like it. Greetings!

Kommentar veröffentlichen