Montag, 1. April 2024

Dr. Israel Presents Dreadtone International – Patterns Of War (Roir)

Dr. Israel is a Brooklyn based revolutionary artist, with releases on ROIR Records, Wordsound, and MOD Tech, as well as collaborations and remixes with legends such as Bill Laswell, Mad Professor, Dr No, Sepultura, Rancid, Sublime, Lee Perry, Bernie Worrell, DJ Krush, and beyond. He is influenced by dub reggae as well as jungle and drum'n'bass and has toured Europe several times and appeared on a number of compilations.

On this album Dr. Israel is bursting with righteous anger, multicultural inspiration, and rhythmic power. While he hasn't left experimental jungle behind completely (check out the remastered and extended reissue of his 1999 classic Inna City Pressure released on ROIR in 2005), Patterns of War stays mostly in a slower, darker reggae groove -- old-school in a sense, but forward-looking at the same time. Longstanding fans will recognize those signature piano stabs that surface on almost every track, but guest vocalists Chemda and Lady K will come as something of a surprise. They lend a welcome added layer to Dr. Israel's sonic mix, especially on the Arabic-flavored drum'n'bass of "Tetze (Get Out)" and the Middle Eastern hip-hop fusion of "One." Elsewhere the beats are straight-up reggae: "Counting out Stones" is a fine roots number complemented by a deep and smoky dub version, while "Interference" is a nice punky reggae anthem featuring the brilliant Oregonian ensemble Systemwide (house band of the lamented BSI label). "Cover Me" is a beautifully constructed groove that doesn't really go anywhere, and "Sensimilla" doesn't say anything about the herb that hasn't been said a million times before, but even the least compelling material on this album is loads of good, heavyweight fun. Highly recommended.


1 Counting Out Stones 4:27
2 Tetze 4:09
3 Cover Me 4:53
4 Sensimellia 3:50
5 Interference 4:42
6 Stay With Me 3:22
7 Dread Inna Babylon 3:06
8 One 3:27
9 Patterns Of War 4:11
10 Counting Out Dubs 4:32
11 Occupation Dub 4:32
12 Dub With Me 4:27

(256 kbps, cover art included)

2 Kommentare:

Anonym hat gesagt…

Hi Zero,

Just to thank you for all the work you're doing here all these years. It's a true miracle. I found more music and learned more from your blog than from any other place on the internet. Your collection is simply amazing. In some better world you'd be a minister of culture and this would be the front page of your ministry. Huge respect also for the values that you promote. You are a true hero!

zero hat gesagt…

Thank you very much for your uplifting comment! It´s a pleasure to have readers (and listeners) like you. I really appreciate your words about the values promoted on this blog - the power of music is really a gift. All the best to you!

Kommentar veröffentlichen