Mittwoch, 15. Februar 2017

Lee Morgan ‎– Search For The New Land (1964)

This set is one of the finest Lee Morgan records. The great trumpeter contributes five challenging compositions ("Search for the New Land," "The Joker," "Mr. Kenyatta," "Melancholee," and "Morgan the Pirate") that deserve to be revived. Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, guitarist Grant Green, pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Reggie Workman, and drummer Billy Higgins are all in particularly creative form on the fresh material, and they stretch the boundaries of hard bop (the modern mainstream jazz of the period). The result is a consistently stimulating set that rewards repeated listenings.          

  1. Search for the New Land – 15:45
  2. The Joker – 5:04
  3. Mr. Kenyatta – 8:43
  4. Melancholee – 6:14
  5. Morgan the Pirate – 6:30

Lee Morgan ‎– Search For The New Land (1964)
(320 kbps, cover art included)

3 Kommentare:

RYP hat gesagt…

Danke für Lee Morgans "Search For The New Land" mit meinem Lieblingsdrummer Mr: Billy Higgins!

zero hat gesagt…

Sehr gerne. Und danke für die vielen Schätze in der twilight zone. All the best!

Anonym hat gesagt…

I always thought Lee Morgan would have been recognised as a genius if he was not surrounded by the collossi of Monk/Mingus/Davis/Coltrane. Thanks for this, I love the guy,

Kommentar veröffentlichen