Sonntag, 19. August 2018

VA - Jah Children Invasion - Dancehall Classics Volume 1 (Wackies, 1983)

A follow-up to 1982's "Jah Son Invasion", "Jah Children Invasion: Dancehall Classics Vol. 1" rounded up another ten Wackies singles, this time concentrating on crowd-pleasing club numbers.

The two riddim 1983 set kicks off in style with Sugar Minott's "Original Lovers Rock," a romantic triumph over an inspired, minimalistic version of "Full Up." While Minott luxuriates in the glories of love, Chuck Turner isn't sure if his festivities are ending or just beginning on the emotive "She's out of My Life." Deeze Smood knows what he's feeling - passionate - and melts the disc with his smoldering "Jungle Love." Spragga Lexus, in contrast, has no time for romance, he's too busy just trying to survive on the hard-hitting "I Am Justa Youth." Producer Lloyd "Bullwackie" Barnes brings this section to an end with the hefty "Tickle Dub."

Steve Harper launches the second half of the set with his potent cover of the Wailers' "Jah Live" over a dread drenched militant version of the riddim, followed by Anthony Green's even more powerful "Victim," hitting virtually every cultural touchstone along the way. Minott returns on "Gi Mi a Reason," turning to the personal realm and his tortured state of his relationship. The growling Spragga Lexus is also back, now a "Conquering Lion" smacking down the ragamuffins, the wicked, and everyone else in his path, all in the name of Jah of course. After which, Barnes and his Wackies Rhythm Force let loose with "Unchain Dub" taking the riddim to its apotheosis.

Wackies released a steady stream of strong singles across the first half of the '80s, and although the vocalists didn't always do his riddims justice, this compilation from stars and barely remembered artists is proof of the label's and producer's power. 

01. Sugar Minott - Original Lovers Rock
02. Chuck Turner - She's Out Of My Life
03. Deeze Smood - Jungle Love
04. Spragga Lexus - I Am Justa Youth
05. Wackie's Rhythm Force - Tickle Dub
06. Steve Harper - Jah Live
07. Anthony Green - Victim
08. Sugar Minott - Gi Mi A Reason
09. Spragga Lexus - Conquering Lion
10. Wackie's Rhythm Force - Unchain Dub 

VA - Jah Children Invasion - Dancehall Classics Volume 1 (Wackies, 1983)
(320 kbps, front cover included)      

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen