Samstag, 10. September 2016

Hazel O´Connor - Breaking Glass (1980)

Hazel O´Connor shot to fame in the role of Kate in the cult film "Breaking Glass". The first female in history to play the lead role as well as writing and performing a films soundtrack.
"Breaking Glass" tells a tale older than dirt - the saga of the rise to fame of an eager young star, only to discover that fame is not all that it is cracked up to be. Hazel O'Connor is a young punk-rocker, singing her angry diatribes on the splintered stages on third-rate London venues. Soon enough, she meets up with a young, aspiring manager Phil Daniels, and she rises to the top. But success puts a damper on a burgeoning love relationship, and when Jon Finch arrives, playing a sleek and smooth record promoter, the duo's artistic independence is also compromised.

Hazel O'Connor's rebellious punk-styled singer is a talented timebomb ready to explode angrily at a cruel world. One night on stage she sees an audience member stabbed ("Calls the Tune"). Unable to get their face out of her mind, she slowly dissolves into a mental breakdown. The movie and album are both one-of-a-kind classics. Since O'Connor was involved so deeply with the production, the success belongs largely to her. If her acting doesn't get to you, then the songs surely will. Each makes a statement of one kind or another - most with a political slant reflecting her on-screen counterpart's bottled-up frustration. "Big Brother" points an accusing finger at Society. "Eighth Day" worries that the machine will shortly rule us. "Blackman" derides stereotyping and Class. "Who Needs It" says no thank you to nuclear energy. Raunchy anarchistic songs sit comfortably alongside touching ballads and futuristic themes.The music is often energetic, yet it's still her touching ballad "Will You" that lives longest in the memory - an absolute classic love song and one of the best saxophone breaks you will ever hear.

A1 Writing On The Wall 3:20
A2 Monsters In Disguise 3:22
A3 Come Into The Air 3:42
A4 Big Brother 3:04
A5 Who Needs It 3:09
A6 Will You 4:49
B1 Eighth Day 3:11
B2 Top Of The Wheel 3:15
B3 Calls The Tune 3:00
B4 Blackman 3:44
B5 Give Me An Inch 3:08
B6 If Only 4:15

Hazel O´Connor - Breaking Glass (1980)
(256 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen