Samstag, 11. Dezember 2021

Gretel Adorno - Walter Benjamin - Briefwechsel (Audiobook)

"We must see to it that we put the best of ourselves in our letters; for there is nothing to suggest that we shall see each other againsoon." 

So wrote Walter Benjamin to Gretel Adorno in spring 1940 from the south of France, shortly before he took his own life.

The correspondence between Gretel Adorno and Walter Benjamin is the document of a great friendship that existed independently of Benjamin's relationship with Theodor W. Adorno. While Benjamin, alongside his everyday worries, writes especially about those projects on which he worked so intensively in the last years of his life, it was Gretel Karplus-Adorno who did everything in her power to keep Benjamin in the world.

She urged him to emigrate and told him about Adorno's plans and Bloch's movements, thus maintaining the connection between the old Berlin friends and acquaintances. She helped him through the most difficult times with regular money transfers, and organized financial support from the Saar region, which was initially still independent from the Third Reich. Once in New York, she attempted to entice Benjamin to America with her descriptions of the city and the new arrivals from Europe though ultimately to no avail.

“The correspondence between Gretel Karplus Adorno and Walter Benjamin documents a remarkable friendship. Benjamin valued “Felizitas” as a critic who was at once acute and sympathetic, and these letters bristle with some of the most challenging formulations of his thought in the 1930s. Yet their relationship also enabled Benjamin to reveal aspects of his life that remained hidden from even his closest male friends, including Adorno himself and Scholem. The letters thus offer a moving and surprisingly intimate account of the fate of a great intellectual struggling to survive – and to write – in exile.” - Michael Jennings, Princeton University

Gretel Adorno - Walter Benjamin - Briefwechsel
(audiobook, 256 kbps, front cover included, German language)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen