Sonntag, 31. Oktober 2021

Alfredo Zitarossa - En Argentina (1973)

Alfredo Zitarrosa (March 10, 1936 – January 17, 1989) was a Uruguayan singer-songwriter, poet and journalist. He specialized in Uruguayan and Argentinean folk genres such as zamba and milonga, and he became a chief figure in the nueva canción movement in his country. A staunch supporter of Communist ideals, he lived in exile between 1976 and 1984. He is widely regarded as one of the most influential singer-songwriters of Latin America.

Uruguayan folk icon Alfredo Zitarrosa lived his childhood in the small town of Santiago Vázquez. Influenced by an elementary school teacher, the enthusiastic young man started paying attention to classical and traditional music. Alfredo Zitarrosa's writing skills allowed him to come in first place after participating in a local poetry contest in 1958, making his debut as a singer in the Peruvian Tulio Loza's Show, performing "Guitarrero" and "Milonga Para una Niña."

As a songwriter, his first composition, called "Recordandote," was made in 1960, a zamba later popularized by los Chalchaleros. Soon after returning to his native country, Alfredo Zitarrosa started working as an announcer and journalist without leaving his music career. On July 20, 1970, the singer/songwriter made a successful live debut in Buenos Aires, later getting his songs played throughout Latin America. In February of 1976, the artist went into exile, temporarily living in Argentina, Spain, and Mexico, returning to Uruguay in March of 1984. The talented musician passed away in January of 1989.

"En Argentina" is the Argentinian version of "Adagio En Mi Pais", with one different track (12).


01. Adagio en mi país [Alfredo Zitarrosa] (5:38)
02. Guitarrero [Carlos Di Fulvio] (3:11)
03. A José Artigas [Carlos Bonavita – Alfredo Zitarrosa] (2:39)
04. Canto de nadie [Alfredo Zitarrosa] (3:35)
05. La canción y el poema [Idea Vilariño – Alfredo Zitarrosa] (3:03)
06. Los hermanos [Atahualpa Yupanqui] (2:42)
07. Triunfo Agrario (Triunfo) [Armando Tejada Gómez – César Isella] (1:37)
08. Dile a la vida [Alfredo Zitarrosa] (3:28)
09. Tierrita poca [Luis Pedro Bonavita – Alfredo Zitarrosa] (2:21)
10. Canción ‘de que’ [Alfredo Zitarrosa] (3:08)
11. De Corrales a Tranqueras [Osiris Rodríguez Castillos] (2:54)
12. Chamarrita de los milicos [Alfredo Zitarrosa] (3:16)

(ca. 256 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen