Freitag, 15. Oktober 2021

Klaus Lenz - Aufbruch (Amiga, 1976)

Klaus Lenz (born March 22, 1940 in Berlin ) is a German jazz musician , band leader and composer, mainly in the modern jazz style . He lived in the GDR until 1977 and is considered the nestor of the GDR jazz scene. Many well-known performers such as Manfred Krug , Günther Fischer , Reinhard Lakomy , Henning Protzmann ( Karat ) , Günter "Baby" Sommer and Ulrich Gumpert learned the musical craft from him and recorded successful albums with him. Klaus Lenz played with constantly changing line-ups, a testament to his constant search for new musical forms of expression. With every formation he achieved a high standard. In addition to his engagement as a jazz musician, he composed in the pop area, he arranged for well-known orchestras and wrote film and theater music, including for the DEFA films Wedding Night in the Rain (1967), Käuzchenkuhle (1968), Not with me, Madam! (1969), Sleeping Beauty (1970), Hey, You! (1970) and Stülpner legend (1972/1973).

"Aufbruch" which - almost anticipatingly - means "departure" would be that last album East German jazz giant Klaus Lenz could publish in his home country. Due to problems with the authority he left East Germany in 1977 and settled down in the western part of Germany where he would record only two more albums (both with another giant, Zbigniew Namyslowski). 

Around 1980 he completely retired from the music scene to earn his living as conservator. A tragic loss for German jazz if you ask me, the man was just 40 years old then. It was a big surprise when Lenz returned in 2010 for some concerts with his old buddies. A CD of these concerts which is said to be pretty fine has been released.


01. Blow out (4:56)
02. Balkantanz (7:00)
03. Aufbruch (7:50)
04. Hallo Igor (12:25)
05. Ballade für zwei (5:25)

(320 kbps, cover art included)

0 Kommentare:

Kommentar veröffentlichen