Montag, 18. Juli 2022

Bim Sherman - African Rubber Dub Vol. 3 (1990)

Jarret Lloyd Vincent (12 February 1950 – 17 November 2000), better known by one of his stage aliases Bim Sherman (others include Jarrett Tomlinson, Jarrett Vincent, Lloyd Vincent, J. L. Vincent, Bim Shieman and Lloyd Tomlinson), was a Jamaican musician and singer-songwriter.

Rooted in reggae, his music developed in later years in many directions, combining influences from all around the world, notably India. Sherman was also hailed as "reggae's sweetest voice". In the mid 1970s, he recorded a small body of roots tunes as a young struggling singer in Jamaica. He later moved to London where, as part of the post-punk reggae infatuation, he made a name for himself recording with Adrian Sherwood's On-U Sound label. He became part of various musical collectives associated with On-U Sound, such as New Age Steppers (alongside Ari Up, formerly of The Slits), Singers & Players (with Congo Ashanti Roy and the late Prince Far-I ), Dub Syndicate and Justice League of Zion.

Sherman also recorded a handful of solo reggae LPs. Towards the end of his life, Bim Sherman took a whole new musical direction. He went to India and re-recorded his classic 70s roots tunes alongside a full Indian classical orchestra in Bombay, creating his masterpiece LP, "Miracle". This opened Sherman up to an entire new audience and he seemed at last to be emerging from the reggae underworld. "It Must Be A Dream", an entire remix of "Miracle" was released with dance mixes by top UK DJs, followed by another notable Indian/reggae crossover LP "What Happened?". 
Bim Sherman was diagnosed with cancer and died in November 2000, within weeks of his diagnosis. He received an obituary in The Times, a rare accolade for an underground reggae singer

This is an reissue of the dub album "African Rubber Dub" (1987) (tracks 1 to 10) plus 5 songs from "Ghetto Dub" (1988) (tracks 11 to 15). The song names have been changed compared to the originals. The tracks were mixed by Adrian Sherwood, King Tubby and Prince Jammy. Ths album should not be confused with "Raw Raw Dub" (Century Records, 2000).


1 Golden Dub 3:34
2 Melody Dub 3:43
3 Highlight Dub 2:32
4 Cry Tuff Dub 2:43
5 Zion Dub 4:03
6 Party Dub 4:20
7 Changing Dub 3:33
8 Rastaman Dub 3:15
9 Divine Dub 3:16
10 Community Dub 2:59
11 Ghetto Dub 3:48
12 Station Dub 2:24
13 Matrix Dub 3:23
14 Moving Dub 3:23
15 Magnet Dub 4:06

(320 kbps, cover art included)

3 Kommentare:

Charlie hat gesagt…

Wonderful album! thank you!

zero hat gesagt…

You are welcome!

Anonym hat gesagt…

yes me friend! thanks, and would you happen to have pt2 raw raw dub?

Kommentar veröffentlichen